Holy Theophany 2010

by the Grace of our Savior, Who was baptized in the Jordan by St. John the Forerunner, on Tuesday, January 6, 2010 (Old Style), the Old Calendar Orthodox Church of Greece, Holy Synod in Resistance, yet again festively celebrated the Holy Theophany in Oropos, Attica, as a confession of our Faith.





The Great Blessing of the Waters, at the pier of Oropos, was performed by His Grace, Bishop Cyprian of Oreoi, acting on behalf of the ailing First Hierarch of the Holy Synod, His Eminence, Metropolitan Cyprian of Oropos and Phyle. Bishop Cyprian also delivered a message appropriate to the Feast.





Despite the chilly weather, a large crowd of faithful from Athens, Attica, and other regions of our homeland took part, as well as groups of clergy and laypeople from Romania and the United States.

Taking part in this splendid celebration were five other Hierarchs: from our Sister Old Calendar Orthodox Church in Romania, Their Graces, Bishops Sofronie of Suceava and Iosif of Botoşani, and from our own country, Bishops Chrysostomos of Christianoupolis, Ambrose of Methone, and Klemes of Gardikion.





Archimandrite Akakios, Abbot of the St. Gregory Palamas Monastery in Etna, California, represented our American Exarchate again this year.





Clergy from the parishes and monasteries of our Holy Synod and a large number of monks and nuns also took part.

Dozens of young men and women in traditional folk costumes with banners and flags, accompanied by the municipal band of Ano Liosia, led the customary festal procession from the Cathedral Church of St. Xenia to the pier of Oropos and back.





The following, among others, were given a place of honor on the dais for dignitaries:

Members of Parliament for Attica, Messrs. Athanasios Bouras and Basileios Oikonomou; the Prefect of Eastern Attica, Mr. Leonidas Koures;



the Mayor of Oropos, Mr. Georgios Gabriel; the Deputy Prefect of Western Attica, Mr. Pomones; the Mayor of Phyle, Mr. Demetrios Bouraïmes, and the Deputy Mayor, Mr. Stamatios Abrames; the President of the Municipal Council, Mr. Aristeides Brembos;

Municipal Councilor, Mr. Anastasios Arambatzides; the President of the commune of Sykaminon, Mr. Thomas Rousses; and other figures in the local government.

